Hand Drawn Animation: Tree

Hand Drawn Animation: Tree

Decided to have a go at drawing an animation by hand on my tablet. This is my crude attempt at drawing a tree and it’s shadow. When drawing, the plan was for it to be a quick sketch, almost like planning out an idea in a sketchbook. This gave me quick gratification of an idea, allowing me to improve it in the future if I want to. For a first attempt and not being very good at drawing, I quite like the outcome. This could be improved by adding more frames, but I limited how many I used to pay homage to the zoetrope which is limited to ~12 frames. For that reason I too only had 12 frames so this idea could easily be translated to the analogue toy.

Below is the quick sketch of my idea, showing the different frames all in one frame. I did this as a plan to get an idea of what I wanted to achieve and what it was going to look like.

Tree Sketch

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

