Time-lapse

Today I made a time-lapse video. Putting my phone against the window, I used an app to take pictures ever second of the road outside (beautiful view, I know). I chose this short interval so that I could do the time-lapse of a short duration as I need my phone and didn’t want to leave it for too long. There was also the limitation of storage space for the images. If I was to do this again, I would use a longer interval and do it over an extended period, saving the images on to something with more storage space.  I took ~300 pictures and then cropped them down to 720p resolution using command line tools in terminal. From here I used FFmpeg to put the pictures into a 25fps video and add a fade-in to the beginning so there wasn’t a sudden start to it. I made a watermark to go on the video in Illustrator and then some music using the loops in GarageBand to accompany it. For the music, I went for a deep house style, as that is typically what is used in time-lapse videos in my experience.

The whole project was put together using FFmpeg to make this nifty little video. This different way of editing pictures and making the video came was very useful for batch cropping and resizing large quantities. If I was to do this using Creative Suite software it would’ve taken a lot longer to do despite achieving the same result.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

