Kinetic Typography: Take 2

Despite my first attempt taking so long to complete (about 7 hours), with progress being really slow, I enjoyed using After Effects and wanted to take it a bit further. For my second video attempt, I chose to do a clip from Gladiator. The main reason for choosing this, plain and simple, is because Gladiator is one of my favourite films. I was also looking for a clip with minimal background sound or music and clear speech levels, as the focus is on what is being said and I didn’t want anything to detract from that.  My plan was to better organise the file as I make it, so I can easily keep track off my layers and to make it quicker and easier.

Image

This screenshot shows my current progress and how I cut down each layer to just the time it needed to be on screen, so I didn’t have to worry about seeing it in the background as I moved the camera around in the 3D space.

For the background of the video, I chose a vignette style which makes it a bit more interesting than a flat colour. As for the colour, I used a sandy/beige colour as a homage to the scene in which the audio is from (a sandy arena; sand is kind-of beige). Like my first attempt I used a serif font, but this time it was to be reminiscent of the old roman empire (think Times New Roman) as I think thats the era the film is set, or something like that.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

